Monday, March 31, 2008

Saturday Night & Sunday Afternoon...

It's been a few days since my last post.. I've been busy with tons of stuff..

Well anywayz.. Last Saturday Nyte..

Me and ERNA hung out with the LIQUID ICE peeps..

to discuss for a dance-project that Mizzie is planning on doing..

It's involves massive collaborations and sponsorships and bla bla

It's A BIG PROJECT.. i hope that we can pull it off..

We'll further discuss this thing next week in details..


--------------------------------------------------

And Yesterday Afternoon.. Went out with the INS.Scene..

@ WYWY.. out used-to-go place.. hahah


--------------------------------

N GUESS WHAT?

Now.. i am employed.. hahaha

as a... not important for u to know..

Tuesday, March 25, 2008

~Labuan~Pictures~

Alryte.. Last Sunday..

EMUL, ADEK, ANNA, EJAT & ME

went to labuan for fun... haha.. but i was the only one who stayed for the night with my cuz..

Photo taken By: Ejat (IS) Edited By: Danielz (IS)

Jalan2 @ Labuan...

Ejat, Baby, Danielz. Adek & Emul

Ejat and ME.. The Best PhotOgrapher!

pOsInG @ thE fErry

aNd iNSToRy Scene ToP Model is...

Picture Perfect!!!

@ The Street..

Monday, March 24, 2008

~ Last Week Events~

Sorry Guys Things've Been So Hectic in my life nowadays tht i almost don't have
time to update my blog...
Went to the Masquerade party with my other Cuzzies
Bella and YG BEHORMAT Hj Faiz …
It was fun..
I Love the masque that I was wearing..
Devil’s horn..
At first it was kinda quiet.. hahaha but then performances from 2 dance crew heated things up..
Only when the police and the CID people ambushed the place did the fun started..
Haha Yuh ryte!

Since the CID pull the plug on the party we decided to just hang and chill with Bell..
+ We met our cuz C BOBOY!!

Boboy , Me & Bella

Bella Me Belle
-----------------------------
Last Friday..
After Jumat Prayer…
Went to My 1st Cuz C-Naim’s Home..
For “Majlis Berzikir and DOA Kesyukuran”
Commemorating his success in O Level and his admission to the Sixth form World..
CONGRATULATIONS NAIM..

I am so proud of you… You never give up in getting what you want!!!
And I think others should learn from that..
Failing doesn’t mean you should quit..
It merely means that you need to work extra hard

~Naim with his flower girl.. hahaha sadang2 th pip eh~
~Naim and Me~

~People zikir-ing the Marhaban~

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

~My RePly To You~

Hahaha.. this is so funny..
To you guys that do not know the story..
It started when I came across Nuar’s interesting piece of article on his blog.. he asked for an explanation.. eventhough im not an anthropologist or an expert.. Because of the fascination of answering that and the interesting-ness of the topic I dared to give him one.. But I never expected it to turn out to be a controversy.. hahaha SO funny.. Never knew that other people would care about my opinion.. but anyways… This was his respond to my post regarding “t-shirt-clothes”….

First lets review what he posted on his blog:
Titled: My reply
I would like to respond to “danielz” on his post of analyzing my previous blog post concerning having identical outfits. Firstly, you highlighted that our primary/secondary socialization is to be blamed. Do you personally think that everyone is brought up the same way? Primary socialization molds out to what we are now and personally speaking, I don’t think it has anything to do with wearing the same t-shirt as anyone else. Secondly, you’re trying to say that mixing of cultures is bad. I’ll disagree on that, perhaps mixing other cultures with one’s would broaden up your knowledge. It’s your own mind that’s saying “I’m embarrassed to be seen wearing the same shirt as him/her”. Thirdly, mass media manipulating the society? What’s this about? A million copies?

My Reply to you…

Yes you are right. We are not brought up by our parents or guardians in the same way. However u should know that we are brought up in the guidelines on the same set of norms which includes; our society’s customs, thinking and our CULTURE. The aspects of our culture within our own understandings are not only influenced by primary socialisation on its own rather than by both primary and secondary socialisation.

The culture that is being taught differs from one generation to one another.
What used to be right in our norm/culture is now wrong…
What used to be appropriate are now inappropriate…and vice versa…

We used to live in a society where “having 2 people wearing the same clothes in the same building are used to be perceived a normal” but because of the mixing of cultures (e.g. western culture that values fashion), that we mostly learnt through secondary socialisation; mass media or any other agents for that matters, it changed.

We usually accept or at least tolerate other culture’s way of thinking from education, mass media etc and subconsciously we relate their culture with ours and infuse both together (secondary). And of course what we learn is subjected to the individual interpretation whether to accept the outside culture as part of his/her own culture.

So if say for example that the parents had accepted the culture of “not having 2 people wearing the same clothes on the same building”, it will automatically become a part of their-interpretation-of –their-own culture and consequently they will teach it to their sons or daughthers (could be our generation or after ours). Even though it will not be in the formal sense, but it still counts as the children learning the norms/culture (including about the culture of not having/frowning upon 2 people wearing the same clothes in a building ) as a part of their primary socialisation.

However it should be acknowledged that the socialisation period of our parents may not be the same as others, in fact it may be more traditional than what I had anticipated. In that case, what their children learn in their primary socialisation will automatically coincide with what they learnt through agents of secondary socialisation. Their traditional way of thinking will usually be in agreement with their current environment or what they are exposed to (e.g from mass media).

Of course this is not absolute, because there are cases where some children do not accept the new mainstream cultures by ignoring the new culture and adapting to what they learnt on their primary socialisation (e.g ignoring or not caring if they were wearing the same shirt of not with other people). It is all up to the individual judgement.


FYI…. I personally think mixing of culture and infusing it with our mainstream culture are for the best (revolution of culture). I never said that it was bad nor did I write such things on my posts or yours. And yes I agree with you on mixing of other culture would broaden up our knowledge and not only that, IN MY OPINION it would also encourage and promote tolerancy which should unite the world nations together as one.
Mass media is one of the agents of secondary socialisation. Respectively, when they work together, (pri and sec) we internalised on what is appropriate and inappropriate to our understandings and respectively to the way we behave. It usually depends on our interpretation.

P/s : no offense to you.. and with all respect.. please read any post thoroughly before you respond to their finding or explanations.

*This explanation is not absolute, and I am not claiming it to be, but it should help us to explain the issue a little if not wholly. And this can prove that primary and secondary socialisation has a something to do with why now we live in the society where “no two should be wearing the same clothes in the same building”. You can either choose to accept it or not..

Next, I shall explain on how mass media can affect/manipulate our way of thinking on the micro scale.Say for example, when you watch movies or tv series on the television. Most of the TV materials portray a very different culture from ours. Sometimes we came to terms or understand the portrayal of the “culture from tv” and even practice it outside the tv world when we interact with our society. At first it may seems weird, strange or out of the ordinary but overtime subconsciously we begin to accept the “different culture” as normal and consequently it will become a part of the society.
*manipulate is not a bad thing in my dictionary for this post, I don’t know bout yours”

Lastly, regarding my tips, I did not say that different colours of the same designs would make it undistinguishable, but it does help from other people knowing instantly that you have identical piece of clothing as the person near you. I don’t know about you but most of the people that I know are not that extreme fashion observant up to a point they notice your clothing designs from every angle, nook and cranny. Oh yes, I agree with you, the clothes that they sell overseas do have copies of them, but it does eliminate the chances of bumping with other person wearing the same piece in your own country right? On a scale to 10, I’d say the chances of that is only 0.2. Besides, there’s a reason why on my post I put on the word “YOU CAN TRY”.. when the word try appears on the sentences it is not 100% guaranteed that it will work. It is up to the individual whether to listen or follow it or not. Those are just merely my opinions.

To The CSS BOX people…

ANON:
Yes we had time to study fashion in sociology pasal kmi habis syllabus awal..
Yes I don’t hear parents saying “eh lai, jangan pakai baju sama macam orang atu, bari malu tu”.. but I do hear parents saying “Eh lai, bhapa ko membali/memutung fashion cematu, banyak jua sudah org ada/buat cematu” hehee

Yes I know what subjective mean thank you very much. To what extend do you think my writing is subjective.. I don’t see how my personal feelings and judgment could be put into that writing. It is too general to be subjective… I don’t see any subjective-ness… Besides.. Who says that sociology can’t be subjective? Durkheim? Subjective and Objective both exist in sociology.. NDA JA? Each sociologist can choose whether to adopt either social action or Interactionist method jua.. kan kan?

RAL: If he/she think it’s crap than it is up to her/him.. I acknowledge but not accept that and thank him/her for him/her opinion. J

FAADZIL005: I am observant.. but not to that extreme..

OTHERS: If it’s ballooney then don’t try it.. nobody asked you to…
*This post is not intended to offend anyone. It's only a friendly respond"

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

~ - Normal but Interesting - ~

P/s Thanx AL for making me remember..
Lupa ku dmlm yth aku nda buat...

Last Nyte I met this "very" interesting guy..
Fun to hang out with...
He's got a lot of good advice...which i like.. although it hurts sometime.. hahaha
But it's good for the soul.. coz he's a realist..
He's understanding... but sometimes in a sarcastic way.. hehe
For Example..
" I Love the way that he agrees with someone while making that someone
feel guilty about what was being said so that someone will not do the thing that he 'AGREES' upon..
I GOTTA LEARN FROM THIS GUY!!! eheheh
He's arguementative and outspoken..
(do you know somebody else yg cni? ahaha ME?)
He's very blunt.. Says anything regardless of what the outcome is..
--- I think i just got epiphany ---
I know i am all that (except the realist part).. But i ain't talking bout me...
There was a few advice in general that he gave me tht i like so much..
although some of this "advice" i've already heard in the past.. But the
way he said it was interesting..
IN WHT WAY? I don't Know..
"We Live for now and tomorrow .. What Past is Past.."
"Everybody has A past"
"Everybody has different opinion"
For now tht's about the only thing tht i remember..
But if i experienced dejavu or epiphany tht i thought was coming from his advice..
I'll be posting it again... ;-)

Monday, March 17, 2008

~Nyte Out~

NIGHT OUT WITH LYNN EPAH AND MAR..
- drg menungking ayam arah JP.. hehehe
It Was A few Nights ago...

~ Lawa C Marissa ah~ Eseh~
~ Cheezy Smile~
Lynn and Epah..
EPahzzzzzzz... Khusyuk reading the Menu..

Lynn malu arah camera.....

~MaSquErADe BaLL~

Masquerade Ball
21st March 2008
@Dewan Muhibah 8pm


- U have to wear a mask-

Ticket per person: $20
Contact me for enquiries..!!!

~ Horror of Saying " U'r -his -her is the same as mine! "

I came across Nuar M's Blog..
He had a very interesting topic about ppl yg pakai the same bju at one place at the same time..
..................................................
What he said:
In the society that I live in, we live by the rule that no two being should wear the same clothes in the same building, with the exception of uniforms. In the case of encountering such a situation, one would immediately divert him/herself into an alley, a shop or perhaps hiding behind a pillar just to ensure that they would not cross-path each other. If on the other hand, it’s too late to run away; both parties would walk pass by each other in awkwardness, and at a faster walking speed hoping that no one else notices the similarities between them. Any anthropologists out there who has the explanation to this? So, I think it’s best for shops out there to just sell one shirt for each design and no more than that. In that case, you won’t worry much carrying an extra shirt in your trunk every time you go out.
-----------------------
My response to this:
Has something to do with
1. The way we were brought up and socialised (primary or secondary)..
2. How our culture has been mixed with other cultures tht value fashion..
coz dulu2 org Brunei don't care if drg punya bju or teluk belanga or kain songket sma mcm org laen..
3. How mass media manipulates us to value fashion eventho conciously we know tht
baju tane ane ada million copies.. except if u bli limited edition.. but still~ there should be at least a hundred copies everywhere.. Unless its couture (One of a kind!!)...
----------------
I responded through his css box.. haha sampai byk spelling error!!!
If you don't want to have the same baju as other people or eliminate
the element of surprise or accidental bumping with other people wearing the
same clothing as you are.. you can try...
Here's My tip:
1. Do not buy baju arah
-Jaya Hypermart
-The superstore arah mall basement.. (I don't remember it's name)
2. ~u can buy at:
- Bingo
- Ego
- fashion outlet
- Hua Ho
(eventho mostly same design.. but the colours are different
which wont be notice-able.)
But ur best bet is:
BUYING ALL UR WARDROBE OVERSEAS

Sunday, March 16, 2008

INSTORY SCENE's DAY OUT!!

INSTORY SCENE's DAY OUT
@ Pantai Seri Kenangan Tutong
Organized by: Hikmah
16th of March 2008
The instory scene went out for a picnic yesterday...
It was bloody fun..
Thanx hiks..
Quoting Mila: "You're The Best!!"
It's been a while since "almost" all of us went out and have fun..
All the Instory Scene's Peeps were there..
Hiks, Rai, Nurul, Emul, Ayen, Mila, Baby, Ejat and Me
(except Adek, Udin and Cnah)
From left:
Mila, Danielz, Ayen, Nurul, Rai, Emul, Baby and Hiks
~"Ceria"~

The rest of the "Chosen" Picture...
MORE PICTURES WILL BE UPDATED SOON!!
From AYEN and IKH
We also took the opportunity to celebrate Baby's a.k.a Anna Birthday
.. The Cake Was YUMMY!!

~Baby's Birthday~

Saturday, March 15, 2008

so anywayz..
Yesterday (14th March 08)..
Went out with Emul to help her on her essays and surveys..
She decided that we should discuss at UBD's Library..

Before that we went to Visit Ayen and her Baby Qawiem...

Emul - Adek - Baby - Qawiem - Ayen - Danielz


Hi-tea at Ideal...
And eating ice-cream..
GELATO.. Yummy..

spontaneously went to Empire Cinema and watch
10 000BC..

-A scene from the movie-

Review?
Although it's not the kind of movie you wud one to see over and over again..

it was great...

----------------------------------------
ON A DIFFERENT STORY...
GUESS WHOSE B'DAY was yesterday?
BABY a.k.a ANNA from INSTORY SCENE's B'day..
My Chan and my friend.. keekke
Happy birthday sweety..
May god bless you...
Just remember.. u're getting older..
and im getting younger by the minute.. kekek

Thursday, March 13, 2008

~ An Update on the Last Performance~

YA SALAM YA SALAM SENANDUNG YA SALAM!
guess what..?
I woke up this morning and my cuz had sent me a msg on msn telling me tht he saw my picture in Ranoadidas's site..
Enthralled by that.. i immediately went into the site and several sites such as anakbrunei linked by rano..
(that was helpful..thank you)
- Found several sites including facebook covering the Laksmana College Anniversary story and photos..
HA!ha!HA!

~During Peformance~
~THAT's ME and Huzairah~

ESeh.. C Naq punya Gmbr Kna Edit~

- With the N.E.X.T DANCERS -

I 'd like to thank the bloggers for taking the liberty to edit our photos..
I appreciate it!!!
Told u Last tyme was fun!! The Picture Proves it!

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

~ Multiple - Updates ~

Last night was fun!!
Finally after much horror anticipation of last minute practice…We
( Udien, Huzairah, Hiks, Naq and Me)
managed to performed successfully last night at Rizqun for
Laksmana College


I Personally thought with such limited time of practice we wouldn’t be able to pull this off.. Trust me it’s was such a stressful week.. Even some of the dancers backed off..
+ it was Naq's (the only UYM) 1st Trad Peformance.. u can imagine how hard it was for her~
BUT WE DID Pull it OFF last nyte!!! The performance was great!



Udin, Huzairah and Me arrived a bit early.. We were sharing changing rooms with the N.E.X.T Dancer.. That gave us a chance for us to bond with them.. They were very nice and fun people.. They were different than what we thought... The situation after and before performance were crazy.. but it was fun at the same time.

P/s Next time we’re going to perform together with the N.E.X.T dancer..

U.Y.M/Instory Scene with the N.E.X.T Dancer

BACKSTAGE MADNESS!!!!



-----------------------------
Robin Van Persie Tries hand @ Table Tennis


It is said, often by himself, that Robin van Persie is Arsenal’s king of the table tennis table.
So, to test just how good the Dutchman is, the Arsenal matchday programme arranged for Robin to spend an afternoon at Southall Sports Centre, home of leading British side London Progress, for an afternoon of coaching and competition with three-times Commonwealth champion Matthew Syed and 18-year-old prodigy Darius Knight.
Robin was put through his paces with a range of serving and returning drills before finishing with with two sets against Knight, the Under-21 national champion. Urging his opponent to operate at full throttle, Van Persie managed respectable defeats of 3-11 and 4-11, hitting clean winners for several of his points.

The Gunners man was later presented with a brand-new professional bat to take home and admitted afterwards that he had learned a lot in just one afternoon’s play.

-----------------------

DAVID ARCHULETTA..

Fallen of the band wagon have you? The first finalist TOP 12 American idol peformance were held last nyte.. Most of the contestants gave a great peformance. To my suprise.. David gave a dissapointing peformance.. he forgot some of the lyrics.. and it looks as if he was not putting any effort into it at all..

But i;m sure next week.. he's gonna give his best performance yet..

blogger templates 3 columns | Make Money Online